2018 IESA 7th Grade State Wrap-Up

7 4-A Final Results

IESA 7-4A State Champions Springfield Grant (26-1) are back to back 7-4A State Champs. Grant had to beat Matteson Colin Powell 51-48, Flossmoor Parker 43-31, and Bolingbrook Jane Adams 48-36 in the Championship Game to be crowned State Champs once again. The team averaged 47.3PPG and held their opponent to 38.3PPG, thats a +9 point differential for the Tournament. The Springfield Grant Generals were led by Tourney MVP Tyaire Lott who scored 19 points in the Championship Game and had a tourney average 8.6PPG, the Generals also received great contributions from Randy Kyles 15.3PPG and is tied for most points in the State Tourney this year for 4A, Keshon Singleton-Lott 12.3PPG last year as a 6th grader he averaged 2PPG on the state team, and J'Veon Bardwell 8PPG.

All-Tourney Teams and MVP

1st Team:

Tyair Lott - Springfield Grant(MVP) as seen in picture holding the ball

Randy Kyles - Springfield Grant

Keshon Singleton-Lott - Springfield Grant

Mekhi Cooper - Bolingbrook Jane Adams

Kaiden Space - Flossmoor Parker

2nd Team:

Noah Only - Algonquin Heineman

Keon Alexander - Bolingbrook Jane Adams

J'Veon Bardwell - Springfield Grant

Terrell Scott - East St. Louis Clark

Kylan Boswell - Urbana

Honorable Mentions: Bryce Tillery-Matteson Colin Powell, Gedeon Kapongo-Urbana, Raeshon Harris-Matteson Colin Powell, Joe Spaccapaniccia-Bolingbrook Jane Adams, Darrin Ames-Flossmoor Parker, and Leirre Collier-Matteson Colin Powell.

7 3-A Final Results

IESA 7-3A State Champions Springfield Lincoln Magnet(22-2). The Leopards beat Washington MS 48-16, Farmington Central 51-27, and Teutopolis 31-26 in the Championship Game to be crowned State Champs. The Leopards inside defensive presence was aggressive. Springfield Lincoln Magnet average was 43.3PPG and they held their opponent to an 23PPG average, giving them a +20.3 point differential for the Tournament. The Leopards were led by MVP Seth Doss who averaged 14.6PPG, they also received great contributions from Makai Allison 13.6PPG, and Griffin Burk 7PPG.

All-Tourney Teams and MVP

1st Team:

Seth Doss - Springfield Lincoln (MVP) as seen in picture

Kamarion Cobb - Glenwood Brookwood (led tourney in total points 60)

Makai Allison - Springfield Lincoln

Brendan Niebrugge - Teutopolis

Brett Hardy - Glenwood Brookwood

2nd Team:

Connor Siemer - Teutopolis

Griffin Burk - Springfield Lincoln

Logan Morse - Farmington Central

Madixx Morris - Maroa-Forsyth

Donnie Burton - Calumet Park Calumet

Honorable Mention: Henry woods-Calumet Park Calumet, Jordan Brown-Glenwood Brookwood, Keyshawn Anthony-Glenwood Brookwood, James Niebrugge-Tuetopolis, and Kyle Litchfield-Farmington Central.

7-2A Final Results

IESA 7-2A State Champions Decatur Robertson(22-1) are back to back IESA 7-2A State Champs. Roberston had to beat Dwight 52-24, Springfield Christ the King 54-42, and Bloomington Corpus Christi 58-26 in the Championship Game and was crowned State Champions. The Wildcats averaged 54.6PPG as a team during this tournament, which is 10+ more than last year, and only allowed their opponents a 30.6PPG output. This gave them a +24 point differential for the State Tourney. The Decatur Robertson Wildcats were led by their MVP MJ Murphy 11PPG he hit 9 3PT during the entire tournament and was the leader for 2A, they also received big contributions from these players Damarion Phillips 10.3PPG, Deontre Woodland 8.3PPG who was last year MVP as a 6th grader, Christion Harper 8.3PPG, and Maurli Carson 7PPG.

All-Tourney Teams and MVP

1st Team:

MJ Murphy - Decatur Robertson(MVP) as seen in picture

Jaden Washington - Joliet Laraway (led tourney in total points 57)

Jake Hamilton - Springfield Christ the King

Will Hamilton - Springfield Christ the King

Damarion Phillips - Decatur Robertson

2nd Team:

Deontre Woodland - Decatur Robertson

Will Adams - Bloomington Corpus Christi

Kaden Droste - Stronghurst West Central

Christion Harper - Decatur Robertson

Brayden Long - Dwight

Honorable Mention: Blaise Killian-Bloomington Corpus Christi, Nick Mardis-Bloomington Corpus Christi, Will Hoene-Effingham St. Anthony, Deonte Cunningham-Joliet Laraway, and Maurli Carson-Decatur Robertson.

7-1A Final Results

IESA 7-1A State Champions is Lovejoy (18-3). Lovejoy had to beat these teams to be crowned Champions. Monmouth ICS 44-13 in the First Round, in the semifinals they beat Stewardson-Strasburg 25-18 which happened to be their toughest game, and in the Finals they beat Washington St. Patrick 44-22 and was crowned State Champions. The Wildcats averaged as a team 37.6PPG in the tournament, and only allowed their opponent to score an average of 17.6PPG, giving them a +20 point differential margin for the tournament. Lovejoy Wildcats was led by their standout star Shantez Holliday who went for 49 total points giving him an average 16.3PPG, he scored 20 points twice in the tournament. The Wildcats also had contributions from Michael McCallum 7.3PPG, Terrell Ray 4PPG, and Debryon Boyd 3.3PPG

All-Tourney Teams and MVP

1st Team:

Shantez Holiday - Lovejoy(MVP) in picture #10

Mitch Coughlon - Washington St. Patrick (led tourney in total points 63)

Jordan Wittenberg - Stewardson-Stevenson

Austin Wittenberg - Stewardson-Stevenson

Micahel McCallum - Lovejoy

2nd Team:

Trey Schilling - Lincoln West Lincoln-Broadwell

Evan Nelson - Mazon-Verona-Kinsman

Wyatt Nothaus - Stewardson-Stevenson

Logan Friedmansky - Lexington

Zachary Bork - Lexington

Honorable Mention: Max Newton-Washington St. Patrick, Camden Nelson-Lincoln West Lincoln Broadwell, Byrce Roe-Mazon Verona Kinsman, David Hatz-Mazon Verona Kinsman, and Debryon Boyd-Lovejoy

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • YouTube Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean