2018 IESA 8th Grade State Wrap-Up

8 4-A Final Results

IESA 8-4A State Bloomington Evans (22-5). Evans finished last year as the runner-ups as 7th graders but this year they are crowned Champions. They had to beat these teams at the State Tournament to be crowned 2018 Champions. University Park Crete Monee 42-39, Bolingbrook Jane Adams 45-38, and Urbana 45-37 in the State Championship game and they also gave Urbana their first loss of the entire season. Evans averaged as a team 44PPG and held their opponent to 38PPG, which gave them a +6 point per game differential for the Tournament. Bloomington Evans was led by Tourney MVP DJ Starr who put up 17 points in the Championship Game and had a tourney average of 14.3PPG, they also received contributions from Kaden Stork 9.3PPG, Chase Adams 4.6PPG, Camden Moss, and Jamarcus Webb who both avergaed 4PPG.

All-Tourney Teams and MVP

1st Team:

DJ Starr - Bloomington Evans (MVP)

Marshawn Sayles - Urbana led tourney in scoring 56pts

Ethan Ivan - Batavia Rotolo

Mekhi Cooper - Bolingbrook Jane Adams

Kaden Stork - Bloomington Evans

2nd Team:

Kyle Neibch - Batavia Rotolo

Kylan Boswell - Urbana

Chris Hobbs - Alton

Ahmad Henderson - University Park

Dahmarion Murrell - Maywood Irving

Honorable Mentions: Jermontre Young-Urbana, Keon Alexander-Bolingbrook Jane Adams, Cameron Edwards-Alton, Markez Cunningham-Stephen Decatur, Sencere Hood-Maywood Irving, Marquan Knight-Alton, and Keyontrez Britton-Stephen Deactur.

8 3-A Final Results

IESA 8-3A State Champions Greenville (24-2). Greenville was last year 7th grade runner-ups, but this year they had to beat these teams at the State Tourney to be crowned the 2018 Champions. Monticello 54-30, Winfield Wheaton Christian 45-44, and Germantown Hills 57-48 victory in the Championship Game. Greenville as a team averaged 52PPG and they held their opponent to an 40.6PPG average, giving them a +11.4 point differential for the State Tournament. The Greenville Jays were led by their (MVP) Isaac Turner who scored 30 points in the title game, averaged 27PPG for the tournament, and led the tourney in scoring with 81 total points. Greenville also received big contributions from Jack Schaufelberger 8.6PPG and Payton McCullough 7PPG.

All-Tourney Teams and MVP

1st Team:

Isaac Turner - Greenville (MVP - #34)

Graham Meisenhelter - Macon Meridian

Samuel Anderson - Winfield Wheaton Christ

Grant Meisenhelter - Macon Meridian

Connor Willerton - Germantown Hills

2nd Team:

Josh Mervis - Germantown Hills

Riley Day - Macon Meridian

Jack Schaufelberger - Greenville

Kamran Banks - Springfield Lincoln

Clayton Leonard - Onarga Iroquois West

Honorable Mention: Chris Haggard-Farmington Central, Lucas Frank-Onarga Iroquios West, Triston Foran-Monticello, Daniel Penosky-Winfield Wheaton Christian, David Gieser-Winfield Wheaton Christian, Peyton McCullough-Greenville, and Zach Schroeder-Germantown Hills.

8-2A Final Results

IESA 8-2A State Champions Madison Spartans (22-3). Madison had to beat these teams at the state tournament Joliet Laraway 50-24, Peoria Heights St. Thomas 62-29, and Colchester West Prairie 38-30 in the Championship Game and was crowned State Champions. The Spartans averaged 47.3PPG as a team during this tournament, and their opponents 27.6PPG, giving them a +19.7 point differential for the State Tourney. The Madison Spartans were led by their (MVP) Denim Eastling who scored 12 points in the title game and averaged 13.3PPG for the tourney. The Spartans also received great contributions from Deno Enlow 9.6PPG, Kayshawn White 7.6PPG, Erwin Baker 7PPG, and Josh Jones 6.6PPG.

All-Tourney Teams and MVP

1st Team:

Denim Eastling - Madison (MVP) as seen in picture

Juan Madrigal - Peoria Heights St. Thomas (led tourney in total points 67)

David Williams - Peoria St. Vincent de Paul

Bailey Sullivan - Colchester West Prairie

Braxton Dunn - Colchester West Prairie

2nd Team:

Deno Enlow - Madison

Luke Shirey - Colchester West Prairie

Jake Nelan - Peoria St. Vincent de Paul

Brylan Phillips - Decatur Johns Hill

Kwasi Anaman - Joliet Laraway

Honorable Mention: Cayden Wilkins-Decatur Johns Hill, Kyle Stewart-Effingham St. Anthony, Charlie Dawson-Peoria St. Vincent de Paul, William Tangel-Peoria Heights St. Thomas, Erwin Baker-Madison, Kayshawn White-Madison, and Josh Jones-Madison.

8-1A Final Results

IESA 8-1A State Champions Sigel St. Michaels Sharpshooter (25-2). Sharpshooters are back to back state champions, they won the 7th grade division last year. The Sharpshooters had to beat these teams to be crowned back to back State Champions Annawan 67-22, Lovejoy 45-40, and Peoria St. Mark 40-30 in the title game. St. Michaels averaged as a team 50.6PPG in the tournament, and only allowed their opponent an 30.6PPG average, giving them a +20 point differential margin for the tournament. Sigel St. Michaels Sharpshooters was led by their MVP and tournament leading scorer of 87 points Craig Croy who scored 19 points in the Title Game, his lowest of the tournament, and finished with a 29PPG average for the tourney. The sharpshooters also received contributions from Max Niebrugge 10PPG and Kaden Young 7PPG.

All-Tourney Teams and MVP

1st Team:

Brock Hamm - Peoria Limestone Walters(MVP)

Kris Dykeman - Peoria St. Mark

Shantez Holiday - Lovejoy

Elijiah Pollice - Lincoln West Lincoln-Broadwell

Max Niebrugge - Sigel St. Michaels

2nd Team:

Scotty Battin - Lincoln West Lincoln-Broadwell

Alex Osmulski - Peoria St. Mark

Kevon Crow - Lovejoy

Alex Trevino - Pontiac St. Mary's

Jayse Heitzler - Annawan

Honorable Mention: Andy Krenz-Pontiac St. Mary's, Teo Chemla-Champaign Next Generation, Kaden Young-Sigel St. Michales, Daulton Miller-Lincoln West Lincoln Broadwell, Davion Hayden-Lovejoy, and Eric Hurst Jr.-Lovejoy.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • YouTube Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean